Hands arranging claim-related documents on table

What is a total incapacity claim and what does it pay?

A total incapacity claim, more commonly called a TPD (total and permanent disability) claim, is an application for a benefit paid when illness or injury leaves you permanently unable to work in your own occupation, any occupation, or in some policies, unable to manage basic daily activities. Get it approved, and the usual outcome is a lump sum, either released from your superannuation once the trustee is satisfied you meet the SIS permanent incapacity test, or paid directly under a standalone policy.

This claim is for three main groups: people insured through their super fund, people holding a standalone TPD policy outside super, and preserved members of a fund who became incapacitated before or after leaving employment. The rules differ depending on which category you fall into, and that difference trips up more claimants than almost anything else in the process.

MoneySmart explains how TPD insurance interacts with super trustees, Super SA publishes one of the clearer trustee claim kits available publicly, and the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA) handles disputes when insurers or trustees say no. If you’re reading this because you suspect you qualify, your first move is simple: pull out your policy document or member statement and check exactly which definition of incapacity applies to you. That one detail decides almost everything that follows.

Key Takeaways

Successfully claiming total incapacity benefits depends on matching your medical and vocational evidence precisely to the policy definition your insurer and trustee apply.

PointDetails
Check your policy definition firstConfirm whether own-occupation, any-occupation, or an ADL test applies before gathering evidence.
Build specialist evidence earlyAsk treating specialists to address functional limits and permanence, not just diagnosis.
Don’t resign before adviceLeaving your job early can weaken an own-occupation claim’s evidentiary basis.
Expect two separate assessmentsThe insurer decides policy entitlement; the trustee separately applies the SIS permanent incapacity test.
Get legal help after refusal or complexityCarelawyers offers direct lawyer access and no win, no fee arrangements for TPD and total incapacity claims in Sydney and NSW.

Table of Contents

Understanding total incapacity: definitions and the tests insurers apply

Total incapacity and TPD are used almost interchangeably in Australia, though the exact wording that governs your claim comes from your specific policy, not a universal legal standard. Broadly, it means an illness or injury has left you permanently unable to engage in any suitable occupation for which you’re reasonably qualified by education, training or experience, or, depending on the policy, unable to perform basic activities of daily living.

Where things get genuinely confusing is in the test each policy applies. These aren’t interchangeable, and the gap between them determines whether a claim succeeds.

  • Own-occupation test: you qualify if you can no longer perform the specific job you were doing, even if you could theoretically work in a different field. This is the most generous test and is becoming rarer in default super cover.
  • Any-occupation test: you must show you can’t work in any job reasonably suited to your education, training or experience, not just your old one. Most default super TPD cover now uses this test.
  • Activities of daily living (ADL) test: applied mainly to older or non-working claimants, this asks whether you can independently perform basic functions like dressing, feeding yourself, or moving around your home.

Superannuation trustees apply a separate, additional layer on top of whichever insurance test applies: the SIS permanent incapacity definition. A trustee must be reasonably satisfied that, because of ill health (whether physical or mental), the member is unlikely ever to engage in gainful employment for which they are reasonably qualified by education, training or experience, a standard Super SA’s claim kit sets out in detail alongside its own termination and lodgement timing rules.

This is why an insurer approving your policy claim doesn’t automatically mean you get paid. If your TPD cover sits inside super, the trustee runs its own separate SIS assessment before releasing the money.

Who can claim and the timing rules that catch people out

Eligibility depends heavily on how your cover is structured, and the fine print here matters more than most people expect going in.

  • Insured through super: most working Australians have default TPD cover bundled with their super fund. Cover usually depends on you being an active member with premiums being paid, and definitions can change if your employment status shifts.
  • Standalone TPD policy: bought directly through an insurer outside super, often with more generous own-occupation definitions, but usually at a higher premium.
  • Preserved members: if you left a fund years ago and your incapacity relates to a period when you still held cover, you may still be eligible, but proving the incapacity existed while the policy was active becomes the central battleground.

Timing is where claimants most often damage their own case without realising it. Resigning from your job before your claim is assessed can undermine an own-occupation claim, because it can look like a voluntary decision rather than a medical inability to work. Terminal illness claims are the exception. Most policies and trustees fast-track these once two medical practitioners, often including a specialist, certify a life expectancy under a defined threshold, typically 12 or 24 months depending on the fund.

Watch for these common exceptions that catch claimants unprepared:

  • Pre-existing condition exclusions that apply if symptoms began before your cover started.
  • Reduced or altered definitions if your insurance transferred from an older employer fund without you noticing the fine print changed.
  • Complications where a redundancy or voluntary separation package overlaps with an incapacity claim, since some funds treat the two as related events requiring separate treatment.

Preparing and lodging a total incapacity claim step by step

The administrative side of a TPD claim rewards people who move methodically rather than quickly. Rushing the first submission is the single biggest cause of delay later on.

  1. Don’t resign until you’ve taken advice. If you’re still employed, get guidance before quitting, since resignation timing can affect an own-occupation assessment.
  2. Notify your trustee or insurer early and request the full claim pack rather than assuming a generic form will suffice.
  3. Preserve every piece of medical and employment evidence you already have, including old specialist letters, workplace incident reports, and payslips.
  4. Complete the member statement in full, matching dates and symptom descriptions to what your medical records already say.
  5. Arrange an employer statement confirming your role, duties, and the date your incapacity began affecting your work.
  6. Collect medical attendant certificates, usually requiring more than one treating practitioner depending on the fund’s requirements.
  7. Submit consent forms authorising the insurer or trustee to obtain further medical and employment records directly.

Insurers typically acknowledge receipt of a completed claim within about 5 business days, though that’s just the starting gun, not the finish line. From there, expect requests for further medical information, and possibly an independent medical examination (IME) arranged and paid for by the insurer.

Pro Tip: Keep a single running file, digital or paper, with every date, letter, and phone call logged from day one. Trustees and insurers move slowly and ask the same questions twice; a clean paper trail saves you weeks of chasing down documents you already sent.

Exactly which documents and medical evidence you need

Evidence quality decides more TPD claims than any other single factor. Insurers and trustees aren’t assessing whether you’re unwell, they’re assessing whether the medical file proves permanence and functional incapacity to the standard their policy requires.

Evidence categoryWhat’s typically required
Treating specialist lettersDetailed reports from your treating specialist, not just your GP, addressing diagnosis, prognosis, and functional limits
Diagnostic imagingScans or test results that corroborate the clinical diagnosis where relevant to the condition
Functional capacity assessmentAn occupational therapist or vocational assessor’s report on what tasks you can and can’t perform
Medical attendant certificatesSigned certificates, often from two separate practitioners where the policy or trustee requires it
Employer statementConfirmation of your role, duties, and the date incapacity began affecting your work
Payslips and job descriptionEvidence of your pre-incapacity income and duties for comparison against any-occupation assessments
Treatment and rehabilitation recordsProof you’ve followed reasonable medical advice, including medication history and rehabilitation attempts

Therapist assessing hand grip strength

A few things matter more than claimants tend to assume. First, medical attendant statements guidance makes clear that many funds specifically require certificates from two separate practitioners, not the same doctor twice, and forms left unsigned or incomplete are a common and entirely avoidable cause of delay.

Second, if your employment has already ended, trustees commonly want retrospective evidence proving the incapacity existed at the date your employment stopped and persisted for a required period, often around six months. That means going back to your treating specialist and asking for a report that speaks specifically to your condition and functional limits as they stood at that earlier date, not just how things look now.

  • Get vocational or occupational therapy input, not just a treating doctor’s opinion, especially for any-occupation tests.
  • Ask specialists to write in terms of functional restrictions, not just diagnostic labels.
  • Request retrospective commentary anchored to your last date of employment if that’s relevant to your claim.

Pro Tip: A diagnosis on its own rarely wins a claim. What moves a file forward is a report that translates the diagnosis into specific, permanent functional limits, exactly the distinction the medico-legal literature on functional capacity versus medical diagnosis draws out. Ask your specialist directly to address permanence and function, not just the clinical name of your condition.

How insurers and trustees actually assess your claim

Once your claim pack lands, it moves through a fairly predictable sequence: acknowledgement, file opening, initial medical review, and then, in most non-straightforward cases, requests for further evidence or an independent medical examination before a decision is reached.

It helps to understand that two separate decisions are happening, often at different speeds. The insurer decides whether you meet the policy definition of TPD. Separately, if your cover sits in super, the trustee must independently decide whether you meet the SIS permanent incapacity test before releasing the benefit. An insurer’s approval doesn’t bind the trustee, and ANZ’s claim guide confirms these are genuinely separate assessments run on separate timeframes.

Insurers request IMEs when the existing medical file leaves gaps, particularly around prognosis, functional capacity, or whether reasonable treatment has been followed. Prepare for one honestly: describe your symptoms and limitations consistently with what’s already in your file, and don’t downplay or overstate your condition on the day.

The delegate must consider the totality of the evidence in determining incapacity for work. Medical referee opinion is important and must be given appropriate weight, but the delegate is not bound by that opinion alone, and vocational and rehabilitation evidence, along with current incapacity payments, all form part of the decision.

That principle, drawn from DVA’s guidance on total and permanent incapacity for work, holds true across most Australian TPD assessments. A single glowing medical report won’t carry a weak file, and a single unfavourable IME won’t necessarily sink a strong one.

  • Assessors weigh medical, vocational and employment evidence together, not medical evidence alone.
  • A gap between what your treating doctor says and what an IME finds usually triggers further requests rather than an automatic refusal.
  • The strength of your vocational evidence often matters more in any-occupation claims than in own-occupation claims.

Why claims get refused and how to avoid it

Refusals rarely come down to one dramatic issue. They’re usually the accumulation of small gaps that, together, leave the insurer unable to reach the required level of satisfaction.

The most frequent reasons TPD and total incapacity claims fail include:

  • Insufficient or vague medical evidence that describes a diagnosis but not its functional impact or permanence.
  • Pre-existing condition exclusions applying because symptoms were present, even mildly, before cover started.
  • Resignation or employment timing issues that undercut an own-occupation argument.
  • Failure to follow reasonable treatment recommendations, which insurers can treat as grounds for refusal.
  • Incomplete claim forms, missing signatures, or medical certificates from the same practitioner where two independent signatories were required.

Reducing that risk isn’t complicated, it just takes discipline early on.

  1. Get comprehensive specialist reports before lodging, not after a request forces your hand.
  2. Cross-check every date on your forms against your medical and employment records for consistency.
  3. Follow your treating specialist’s recommended treatment plan and keep records showing you did.
  4. Have every form checked for complete, correctly dated signatures before submission.
  5. Where an any-occupation test applies, commission a vocational rehabilitation report early rather than waiting for the insurer to request one.

A good vocational report does more than describe your limitations, it actively rebuts the any-occupation test by explaining, in concrete terms, why no reasonably available job matches your remaining capacity given your training and experience. That single document often carries more weight in a disputed any-occupation claim than another round of specialist letters. For a deeper look at how insurers build a case for refusal, Carelawyers’ guide to why insurers deny serious injury claims walks through the tactics insurers use and where claimants can push back.

How long a claim takes and what the payout looks like

Set your expectations early, because TPD claims rarely move as fast as claimants hope, particularly once complex medical evidence or multiple specialists are involved.

StageTypical timeframeNotes
Initial acknowledgement by insurerAround 5 business daysConfirms receipt, not that assessment has begun
Insurer medical review and evidence requestsWeeks to several monthsExtended by IME scheduling, specialist availability, or incomplete files
Trustee assessment after insurer approvalAround 5 to 10 business days for initial reviewTrustee applies its own SIS permanent incapacity test
Terminal illness fast-trackCan be significantly fasterRequires two specialists certifying a defined life expectancy threshold

If the insurer approves your claim, the benefit generally flows into your superannuation account, at which point, as ANZ’s guide explains, the trustee applies the SIS test before authorising release. Standalone policies outside super pay the lump sum more directly, without that extra trustee layer.

Superannuation preservation rules matter here more than most claimants expect going in. Even once an insurer approves your TPD claim, your money sits inside your super account subject to preservation law until the trustee is independently satisfied you meet the permanent incapacity definition. HESTA’s permanent incapacity benefit guide sets this process out clearly for fund members, and it’s a useful read if your cover sits with an industry super fund rather than a standalone policy. Terminal illness claims bypass much of this delay, since funds are generally required to fast-track release once the specialist certification threshold is met.

A refusal isn’t the end of the road, and in a meaningful number of cases it isn’t even the final answer. What matters is choosing the right dispute path and moving through it methodically.

  1. Request an internal review from the insurer or trustee, setting out specifically which parts of the decision you dispute and attaching any new medical or vocational evidence that addresses the gaps identified in the refusal letter.
  2. Track the response timeframe. Insurers and trustees generally must respond to internal review requests within a set period; if that period passes without a response, that itself can be grounds to escalate.
  3. Escalate to AFCA if internal review fails or the timeframe lapses. AFCA can investigate disputes about TPD and total incapacity decisions, and there are time limits on lodging a complaint after a final response, so don’t sit on a refusal letter.
  4. Consider court action or specialist legal representation where the dispute involves complex medical evidence, a large lump sum, or a fundamental disagreement about which policy definition applies.

Not every refusal needs a formal complaint. Sometimes a well-constructed internal review with fresh specialist evidence resolves the issue without ever reaching AFCA. But if you’ve already been through internal review and hit a wall, AFCA exists precisely for this situation, and its process is free for consumers to use.

  • Keep every piece of correspondence with the insurer or trustee, including call logs and reference numbers.
  • Ask for written reasons for any refusal, since a vague refusal is harder to dispute than a specific one.
  • Don’t assume a refusal means your medical condition wasn’t serious enough; it often means the file didn’t demonstrate what the definition required.

Not every claim needs a lawyer from day one, but several situations make legal advice worth the conversation early rather than after things go wrong.

  • Your claim has already been refused and you’re unsure why.
  • The medical evidence is complex, contested, or involves multiple conflicting specialist opinions.
  • A large lump sum is at stake and the insurer is asking pointed questions about resignation timing or pre-existing conditions.
  • You’re a preserved member and the insurer disputes whether your incapacity existed while cover was active.

A lawyer experienced in TPD claims does more than fill out forms. Typically, they gather and organise evidence to address the specific test your policy applies, brief medical and vocational experts to write reports that speak directly to functional capacity and permanence, lodge internal reviews or AFCA complaints with the supporting documentation properly structured, negotiate directly with the insurer’s claims team, and, where necessary, prepare a case for court.

If you’re weighing up whether you even need representation at this stage, resources like what a disability lawyer actually does and why some firms decline certain cases are worth reading before your first appointment, since they set realistic expectations about case selection and process.

Bring your policy documents, all medical records and specialist reports, employer correspondence, and every letter you’ve received from the insurer or trustee. Ask directly about the estimated timeline, the fee arrangement, whether the lawyer has handled cases involving your specific condition, and what evidence they think is missing from your file.

A checklist before you contact your trustee or insurer

Before you pick up the phone, run through this short list so you’re not caught off guard mid-call.

  • Confirm which definition of incapacity applies to your specific policy: own-occupation, any-occupation, or ADL.
  • Check whether your cover sits inside super or as a standalone policy, since that changes the process significantly.
  • Find out exactly which forms are required and whether the fund provides a full claim kit.
  • Ask who pays for medical evidence, particularly IMEs, since costs and arrangements vary by insurer.
  • Check whether your condition might fall under a pre-existing condition exclusion in the policy wording.

When you do speak with the trustee or insurer, these questions get you further than generic small talk:

  • “Which specific definition of total incapacity applies to my policy, and can you send that clause in writing?”
  • “How will you assess my vocational capacity if an any-occupation test applies?”
  • “What’s your typical timeframe for acknowledgement, and then for a full decision?”
  • “Do you expect to require an independent medical examination, and if so, who arranges and pays for it?”

What claims lawyers see going wrong, and the one fix that matters most

The mistake we see most often isn’t a weak medical condition, it’s weak early evidence. Claimants frequently lodge with a GP letter and a diagnosis, assuming that’s enough, when what the insurer actually needs is a specialist report that spells out functional limits and permanence in the exact language the policy definition uses. By the time that gap surfaces, months have passed and the file already looks incomplete to the delegate reviewing it.

The second recurring mistake is resigning before getting advice. People assume leaving a job that’s become physically or mentally impossible strengthens an own-occupation claim. Often it does the opposite, because it removes the clearest evidence of ongoing attempts to work through the incapacity.

If there’s one practical habit worth adopting from the outset, it’s this: before you lodge anything, ask your treating specialist to write specifically to the definition in your policy, not a general medical summary. That single request, made early, prevents most of the delays and knockbacks that follow a generic first submission.

Carelawyers deals with total incapacity and TPD claims where the insurer’s paperwork, medical requirements, and trustee processes have already left claimants exhausted before the real assessment even begins. What sets a specialist claim lawyer apart here isn’t jargon or bulk paperwork, it’s direct access to the lawyer actually running your file, someone who briefs your specialists, chases the trustee, and tells you plainly where your evidence has gaps before the insurer finds them first.

Carelawyers

Carelawyers works on no win, no fee arrangements for eligible claims, meaning you’re not funding the legal costs upfront while you’re already managing a permanent incapacity. Before your first appointment, gather your policy or member statement, any medical records and specialist letters you already have, your employer’s correspondence, and copies of anything the insurer or trustee has sent you. That alone lets a lawyer assess your position properly on the first call rather than the third.

If you’re at the point of lodging or you’ve already had a claim knocked back, the practical next step is straightforward: reach out to Carelawyers’ TPD lawyers in Sydney and NSW for a direct assessment of your policy definition and evidence gaps before you submit or appeal anything further.

Frequently asked questions

What is a total incapacity claim in simple terms?
It’s an application for a benefit, usually a lump sum, paid when illness or injury permanently stops you from working, either in your specific job or in any suitable occupation, depending on your policy’s definition.

What is the difference between total incapacity and partial incapacity?
Total incapacity means you can’t work at all under your policy’s test. Partial incapacity covers situations where you can still work in a reduced or modified capacity, and it’s typically assessed and paid differently, often as ongoing income support rather than a lump sum.

How long does a total incapacity claim take to process?
Insurers usually acknowledge a claim within about 5 business days, but full assessment can take months if specialist reports, IMEs, or further evidence are needed. Trustee assessment after insurer approval typically adds another 5 to 10 business days for the initial review.

Do I need a lawyer to make a TPD claim?
Not always at the start, but legal advice becomes valuable once a claim is refused, the medical evidence is complex, or there’s a dispute about resignation timing or pre-existing conditions.

What happens if my TPD claim is refused?
You can request an internal review with the insurer or trustee, and if that fails or the timeframe lapses, escalate to AFCA, which handles these disputes free of charge for consumers.

This article provides general information about total incapacity and TPD claims and isn’t a substitute for professional legal or financial advice. Confirm your specific policy terms with your insurer or trustee, or speak with a qualified professional about your circumstances.

This article is general information, not a substitute for advice from a qualified lawyer. Consult a qualified legal professional about your own circumstances before acting on anything here.

Frequently asked questions — overview diagram

Sources

These are the starting points for verifying anything covered here, though your own policy wording is always the final word on your entitlements.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *