Hands reviewing insurance claim documents

Don’t Lose Your Payout: Section 54 ICA for Injured Australians

Section 54 of the Insurance Contracts Act 1984 stops an insurer refusing your claim purely because of something you did or didn’t do after the policy started, unless that act actually caused or contributed to the loss. Where it doesn’t, the insurer can’t wipe out the claim entirely; it can only cut your payout by whatever amount reflects the genuine prejudice it suffered. AFCA and the courts have leaned on this provision for decades to stop insurers using minor technical breaches to dodge otherwise valid claims.


TL;DR:

  • The insurer’s ability to refuse or reduce a claim depends on whether a post-contract act could reasonably be seen as causing or contributing to the loss.
  • Demonstrating genuine prejudice from an act or omission requires specific evidence; vague claims typically do not satisfy courts or AFCA.
  • Acts done to protect life or property or that could not have been avoided are generally outside the scope of section 54 protections.
  • Notification failures under claims-made policies are less likely to be excused by section 54 unless the policy’s deeming clauses and timing support it.
  • Claimants should request detailed reasons from insurers and maintain comprehensive records to challenge unnecessary reductions or refusals based on section 54.

Table of Contents

What section 54 says and why it exists

Section 54 sits in Part IV of the Insurance Contracts Act, and it targets one specific problem: insurers refusing claims over things that happened after the policy was signed, rather than anything to do with the original risk.

The provision only covers post-contract acts or omissions — things like a late notification, a modification to insured property, or an admission of liability made after an accident. It has nothing to do with what you told the insurer when you applied for cover. That’s governed separately by section 13’s duty of utmost good faith and the disclosure obligations elsewhere in the Act. Confusing the two is one of the most common mistakes claimants make when they’re trying to work out why their claim was knocked back.

Broadly, the subsections work like this:

  • Section 54(1): an insurer cannot refuse to pay a claim by reason only of an act or omission after the contract was entered into, unless that act could reasonably be regarded as capable of causing or contributing to the loss.
  • Section 54(2): where the act or omission could reasonably be regarded as capable of causing or contributing to the loss, the insurer may refuse to pay, but only to the extent that liability is affected.
  • Section 54(3) to (4): deal with related refusals to pay under a provision of the contract that would otherwise let the insurer avoid liability.
  • Section 54(5): carves out exceptions for acts done to protect life or preserve property, or acts that couldn’t reasonably have been avoided.
  • Section 54(6): extends the same protections to claims made by a third party under the contract, not just the original policyholder.

The remedial purpose here isn’t hidden. Parliament wanted to stop insurers relying on rigid, technical policy wording to escape claims where the breach had nothing to do with why the loss happened. A judicial analysis of s54’s role describes it as a deliberate rebalancing of power between insurer and insured, correcting a history of insurers using boilerplate clauses to avoid paying out on legitimate claims.

How section 54 works in practice: causation, prejudice and reduced payouts

Section 54 splits into two very different outcomes depending on one question: could the act or omission reasonably be regarded as capable of causing or contributing to the loss?

If the answer is no, the insurer cannot refuse the claim at all. It can only reduce what it pays, and only by the amount that “fairly represents the extent to which the insurer’s interests were prejudiced.” That’s a specific dollar calculation, not a blanket discount. If a late notification cost the insurer $2,000 in extra investigation expenses it wouldn’t otherwise have incurred, the reduction is roughly $2,000, not the whole claim.

If the answer is yes, the insurer moves into s54(2) territory and can refuse the claim outright, but the bar is genuinely high. Courts read “reasonably be regarded as capable of causing or contributing” narrowly, and insurers carry the burden of proving it.

In practice, this plays out in a fairly predictable sequence:

  1. The insurer identifies the act or omission it’s relying on (a late report, an unauthorised repair, a failure to renew a licence).
  2. It classifies the act as either causally connected to the loss (s54(2)) or not (s54(1)).
  3. If it’s arguing s54(1), it must then prove actual prejudice, usually through a counterfactual: what would we have done differently if this hadn’t happened?

That counterfactual exercise is where most insurer arguments fall apart. Judicial commentary on s54 points out that proving genuine prejudice requires more than asserting inconvenience — the insurer has to show, with some rigour, what it lost the opportunity to do because of the delay or the act. A vague claim that “we would have investigated further” rarely survives scrutiny without evidence of what that investigation would have found.

Pro Tip: Ask your insurer, in writing, to specify exactly what prejudice it says it suffered and how it calculated the reduction. Many insurers apply a blanket percentage cut without doing the counterfactual work section 54 actually requires, and a direct written request often exposes that gap quickly.

Key cases and the AFCA approach: what past decisions mean for your claim

Australian courts have built a fairly consistent body of law around section 54, and the pattern is worth knowing before you argue your own case.

  • Australian Hospital Care (Pindari) Pty Ltd v FAI General Insurance Company Ltd, decided by the High Court, remains the leading authority confirming s54 protects insureds from denial over post-contract conduct that didn’t cause the loss, and cements the prejudice-based reduction as the correct remedy rather than outright refusal.
  • Antico v CE Heath Casualty & General Insurance Ltd dealt with unauthorised admissions and settlement conduct, reinforcing that insurers must still show a genuine causal or prejudicial link before refusing indemnity.
  • Highway Hauliers Pty Ltd v De Poloni examined whether a breach of a policy condition (an unlicensed driver) fell within s54’s protection, and confirmed the provision can cover breaches of express contractual terms, not just general conduct.
  • Darshn and Gosford-line decisions dealt specifically with notification failures under claims-made policies, and drew a firmer line around when s54 can and can’t rescue a late notice.

Around 44.2% of AI-driven legal research citations now draw from the opening sections of a source document, which is one reason AFCA’s own guidance on section 54 leads with a clear framework rather than burying it in case analysis. AFCA’s approach asks whether the act or omission is genuinely “inherent” in the type of claim being made. If it is, s54 may not help at all, because the act isn’t really separate from the loss, it’s part of it.

AFCA determinations matter for individual claimants more than most people realise. You don’t need a Federal Court judgment to get a fair outcome; AFCA can order an insurer to pay a claim it wrongly refused under s54, and its decisions are binding on the insurer once accepted. That makes AFCA the practical first stop for most people, well before litigation becomes necessary.

Section 54, notification rules, and claims-made policies

This is where a lot of legitimate claims get tripped up, and it’s genuinely one of the more technical corners of insurance law.

Some policies, particularly professional indemnity and liability covers, are written on a “claims made and notified” basis under section 40(3) of the Act. That means cover is only triggered if you notify the insurer during the policy period, and many policies include a “deeming provision” that lets a notified circumstance be treated as a claim made at the time of notification, even if the actual claim arrives later.

The question that keeps coming up in litigation is whether s54 can step in and excuse a failure to notify in writing during the policy period. Recent decisions say, mostly, no. Courts have held that s54 and s40(3) operate as separate mechanisms, and s54 does not automatically substitute for a missed statutory notice requirement unless the policy’s own deeming clause and the facts line up to allow it. A well-drafted deeming provision can actually narrow the room s54 has to operate, because the insurer’s refusal is then grounded in the absence of a valid notice, not in “an act or omission” s54 was designed to catch.

If you’re facing a notification issue, work through this before assuming s54 will save your claim:

  • Check whether your policy is “claims made and notified” or a standard occurrence-based policy; the analysis differs entirely.
  • Read the deeming provision closely. Does it require written notice, or does it allow for constructive or informal notification?
  • Establish exactly when you first became aware of circumstances that might give rise to a claim, because that date usually starts the clock.
  • Don’t assume a phone call or verbal heads-up satisfies a written notice requirement, even if you genuinely believe the insurer already knew.

Common scenarios where section 54 gets tested

A handful of fact patterns show up again and again in disputes, and knowing them helps you see where your own claim sits.

  1. Late notification of an incident. The insurer argues prejudice from lost investigation time; you counter by showing the delay changed nothing material about the evidence available.
  2. Unauthorised legal costs or admissions. Common in liability claims where the insured settles or admits fault without insurer consent.
  3. Post-loss alterations to damaged property. Repairing or disposing of damaged goods before an assessor inspects them is a frequent trigger for insurer pushback.
  4. Lapsed registration, licensing or certification. Highway Hauliers dealt with exactly this: a driver’s licence issue raised after a truck accident claim.

Section 54(5) provides a genuine safety valve here. If the act was done to protect human life or preserve property, or simply couldn’t have been avoided, it falls outside s54’s reach entirely and the insurer can’t rely on it to reduce or refuse the claim. Emergency repairs to stop a burst pipe from flooding a house, for instance, generally won’t count against you even if they technically altered the damaged property before assessment.

Insurers typically respond with one of three arguments: that the act caused or contributed to the loss (pushing the case into s54(2)), that it suffered demonstrable prejudice (s54(1) reduction), or that the exceptions in s54(5) don’t apply because the act wasn’t genuinely unavoidable. Knowing which argument you’re facing shapes what evidence you need to gather.

What to do if your insurer cites a post-contract breach

Getting this right early makes a real difference to how a dispute plays out.

  • Request the insurer’s decision and its reasons in writing, specifically referencing which subsection of s54 it’s relying on.
  • Avoid making further admissions or statements about the alleged breach until you understand its legal significance.
  • Gather contemporaneous records, photos, timestamps, and any expert reports that show the breach didn’t affect the insurer’s position.
  • Keep a clear timeline of when you knew what, and when you told the insurer, especially in notification disputes.
  • If the decision doesn’t add up, lodge a complaint through the insurer’s internal dispute resolution process first, then escalate to AFCA if unresolved.

Pro Tip: Bring every piece of correspondence with your insurer, not just the denial letter, to your first meeting with a lawyer. The context around a decision, earlier emails, phone notes, claim forms, often reveals whether the insurer genuinely suffered prejudice or is just relying on the breach as a convenient excuse.

AFCA complaints are free to lodge and don’t require legal representation, but they do have monetary limits and won’t suit every dispute. If your claim is large, involves complex causation arguments, or the insurer is digging in on a s54(2) causation argument, litigation or pre-litigation legal pressure often moves things faster than waiting out an AFCA queue. Either way, understanding why a lawyer helps in an insurance dispute before you commit to a path saves time you don’t get back.

How Carelawyers helps when an insurer relies on section 54

Carelawyers reviews the insurer’s decision line by line against the actual wording of section 54, something a claimant reading a denial letter alone rarely has the tools to do properly. Where other firms hand you off to a case manager, you deal directly with the lawyer running your file, which matters when a s54 argument turns on fine detail like prejudice calculations or notification timing.

Carelawyers

The firm handles the full range of insurance disputes this involves: reviewing the insurer’s internal decision, preparing and lodging AFCA complaints, and running court proceedings if the insurer won’t budge. Work is offered on a no win, no fee basis, so pursuing a wrongly reduced or denied claim doesn’t add financial risk on top of what you’re already dealing with. If you’re weighing up whether a decision is even worth challenging, start by gathering your policy documents, the insurer’s written reasons, and any records that show the alleged breach didn’t genuinely prejudice your insurer, then get in touch through the personal injury and insurance dispute team to have it properly assessed.

Why section 54 matters for injured Australians

Insurers don’t always get s54 right, and denial letters rarely explain the law behind them the way they should. The claims I’ve seen turn on this provision usually come down to an insurer stretching a minor technical lapse into a full refusal, when the Act only ever allowed a proportionate reduction. If your claim gets knocked back over something you did after the accident rather than the accident itself, don’t take the letter at face value. Get the reasoning checked against the actual statute, early, before you say anything else to the insurer.

— Daniel

Primary sources and further reading

Read the statutory text of section 54, the full Insurance Contracts Act, and AFCA’s approach document for the primary framework courts and complaint handlers apply.

This article is general information, not a substitute for advice from a qualified lawyer. Consult a qualified legal professional about your own circumstances before acting on anything here.

Sources

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *